Build A Strong Defense Against Drunk Driving Charges
DWI (driving while intoxicated) or OWI (operating while intoxicated) is a serious charge. Even for the first offense in Louisiana, you could be facing jail time.
I have the experience and skill as a Lafayette DWI defense attorney to defend you against DUI (driving under the influence), DWI or OWI along I-10 and throughout Lafayette Parish. From my law firm in Lafayette, I use my experience to fight aggressively to defend you from jail time and a tarnished record.
I know the long-term consequences of an OWI conviction. I know I’m fighting for you, your family and your future.
If you are arrested for drunk driving, you are facing criminal penalties as well as the administrative license revocation procedures of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Consequences Of A DWI Conviction In Louisiana
Whether you are facing your first offense or multiple DWI offense, do not hesitate to seek legal help. The penalties for drunk driving increase with the number of offenses and include the following:
- First offense: Whether you took the Intoxilyzer and the result of the test was positive or refused the Intoxilyzer, you could lose your license for up to two years and be sentenced up to six months in jail.
- Second offense: You could face a mandatory 48 hours and up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine. Depending on when the prior license suspension transpired and whether you took the Intoxilyzer or refused the test, your license could be suspended for up to four years.
- Subsequent offenses: You could be charged with a felony offense with a possible 30-year prison sentence.
I do in-depth research surrounding the stop, arrest, any field sobriety tests, any Intoxilyzer, urine and/or blood test results. For repeat offenders charged with second and subsequent offenses, the same research is conducted regarding the particulars of the offense as for a first offense, and I will fight to have the prior convictions quashed to avoid increased penalties.
Whether you refused or took the Intoxilyzer or blood test, I can help.
The Administrative Defense Of Your Driver’s License — Don’t Wait
Time is of the essence in the administrative DWI/OWI process. If you don’t file for an administrative hearing with the DMV within 30 days after the arrest, you will automatically lose your license.
Legal Change Regarding Refusing To Take The Breath Test ∙ You Still Have Rights
Due to recent changes in the law, many people think that you will automatically lose your license for 12 months if you refuse the Intoxilyzer or blood test. The fact is, however, you still have the opportunity to file for an administrative hearing and fight your license suspension.
Fight For Your Future. Call Today.
As a DWI/OWI lawyer, I know that DWI/OWI defense carries consequences greater than just the immediate fines or jail time — this will affect your future and your family.
Call 337-205-0319 or contact my firm online to arrange a consultation.
Located in downtown Lafayette, I serve the Parishes along I-10 from Jefferson Davis Parish to St. Martin Parish, and the Parishes along I-49 from St. Landry Parish to St. Mary Parish. I can meet with you evenings and weekends by appointment.